2008 Top Safety Picks

Vehicles that perform best in our evaluations qualify for Top Safety Pick, which has been awarded since the 2006 model year, or Top Safety Pick+, which was inaugurated in 2013.

These awards identify the best vehicle choices for safety within size categories during a given year. Larger, heavier vehicles generally afford more protection than smaller, lighter ones. Thus, a small car that qualifies for an award might not protect its occupants as well as a bigger vehicle that doesn't earn the award.

2008 criteria

Top Safety Pick

To qualify for 2008 Top Safety Pick, a vehicle must earn good ratings in the moderate overlap front, original side, and head restraint tests and must offer electronic stability control.

Other years

End of main content