State Farm's Sparks and Shelter's Clapp to head IIHS Board of Directors

February 6, 2020

The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety is pleased to announce that Angela Sparks, who served as chair of its Board of Directors in 2019, will continue on in the position for the first six months of the year. Dan Clapp has been elected to take the helm in July for the remainder of 2020.

Sparks is vice president and actuary at State Farm Insurance Companies.

"We at State Farm are proud to support the lifesaving work of IIHS, and I look forward to leading the Board for another six months," Sparks says. "During this time of rapid changes in technology and new challenges in mobility, the Institute's research plays a vital role in keeping safety at the forefront."

The Board voted to have Sparks stay on as chair after last year's chair-elect, Hank Nayden, retired from GEICO Corporation, where he was vice president and general counsel. Clapp, executive vice president at Shelter Insurance Companies, will serve as chair-elect until he takes over as chair. The new vice chair is Stan McNaughton, president and chief executive officer of PEMCO Insurance.

"We're grateful to Angela for agreeing to stay on as chair to help ensure a smooth transition," says David Harkey, president of IIHS and HLDI. "We look forward to Dan's leadership in the second half of the year."

Sparks has been an IIHS board member since 2015. Clapp began representing Shelter on the Board in 2012.

Other 2020 IIHS Board members are:

  • Kristina (Kriss) Barronton, vice president, auto product line, USAA
  • Charles M. Chamness, president and chief executive officer, National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies
  • Cody Cook, senior vice president, personal lines, Erie Insurance Group
  • Todd Davis, vice president, field product, Nationwide
  • Brian Deephouse, vice president, product management, Auto Club Enterprises
  • Daniel Halsey, president, personal lines, The Hanover Insurance Group
  • John Hardiman, director of public affairs, NJM Insurance Group
  • David Harkey, president, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety
  • Jim Litherland, regional product manager, CHUBB
  • Richard Lonardo, vice president, MetLife
  • William D. Loucks Jr., president, 21st Century Insurance, Farmers Insurance Group
  • Robert Lyon, president and chief executive officer, Rockingham Insurance
  • James MacPhee, president, chief operating officer, Liberty Mutual Insurance
  • John McCaskill, senior vice president, property and casualty underwriting, American National
  • Rob McDade, senior vice president of property casualty, COUNTRY Financial
  • Ted Murphy, chief operations officer, Amica Mutual Insurance Company
  • Marc Natrillo, auto line lead, personal lines, The Hartford
  • Tim Nee, chief operating officer, The Responsive Auto Insurance Company
  • Steve Oakley, senior vice president, product management, and chief actuary, PURE Insurance
  • Holly Reston, senior executive, underwriting, North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company
  • David A. Sampson, president and chief executive officer, American Property Casualty Insurance Association
  • Duane Sanders, executive vice president and president, property and casualty division, Kemper Corporation
  • Bill Westrate, enterprise president, American Family Insurance
  • Andrew Woods, vice president, personal lines – research and development, The Travelers Companies, Inc.
  • John Xu, vice president, actuarial, CSAA Insurance Group
  • Floyd M. Yager, senior vice president, product management, Allstate Insurance Group
  • Scott Ziegler, business leader, Progressive Insurance

End of main content