2015 Top Safety Picks

Vehicles that perform best in our evaluations qualify for Top Safety Pick, which has been awarded since the 2006 model year, or Top Safety Pick+, which was inaugurated in 2013.

These awards identify the best vehicle choices for safety within size categories during a given year. Larger, heavier vehicles generally afford more protection than smaller, lighter ones. Thus, a small car that qualifies for an award might not protect its occupants as well as a bigger vehicle that doesn't earn the award.

2015 criteria

Top Safety Pick

To qualify for 2015 Top Safety Pick, a vehicle must earn good ratings in the moderate overlap front, original side, roof strength and head restraint tests, as well as a good or acceptable rating in the driver-side small overlap front test.

Top Safety Pick +

To qualify for 2015 Top Safety Pick+, a vehicle must meet the Top Safety Pick criteria, plus earn an advanced or superior rating for front crash prevention. Top Safety Pick+ winners with optional front crash prevention qualify for the higher award only when equipped with the technology. However when not equipped, they still meet the criteria for Top Safety Pick.

Other years