State Farm's Sparks elected to head IIHS Board of Directors

February 8, 2019

The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety is pleased to announce the election of Angela Sparks as the 2019 chair of its Board of Directors. She is the third woman to head the IIHS Board since the Institute’s 1959 founding. Sparks is vice president and actuary, State Farm Insurance Companies. She succeeds William L. Windsor Jr., who served as IIHS chair during 2018 and has retired from Nationwide Insurance.

"State Farm is committed to furthering the Institute's mission of reducing deaths, injuries and property losses from motor vehicle crashes," Sparks says. "I am proud to partner with my colleagues on the IIHS Board this year in supporting research to help make our roads safer for everyone."

"We are delighted to welcome Angela as our new Board chair," says David Harkey, president of IIHS and HLDI. "She has represented State Farm on the IIHS Board since 2015, and I know we will benefit from her leadership and commitment to the Institute's lifesaving work."

The new chair-elect is Hank Nayden, vice president and general counsel, GEICO Corporation. The vice chair is Dan Clapp, executive vice president, Shelter Insurance Companies.

Other IIHS Board members are:

  • Gabriel Carrillo, senior vice president, Property Casualty, COUNTRY Financial
  • Charles M. Chamness, president and chief executive officer, National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies
  • Cody W. Cook, senior vice president — Personal Products, Erie Insurance Group
  • George D. Dufala, executive vice president, head of Insurance Operations, Selective Insurance
  • Paul W. Franklin, senior vice president, Cpi Worldwide Underwriting, manager for Personal Lines, CHUBB
  • Daniel Halsey, president, Personal Lines, Hanover Insurance Group
  • John Hardiman, director of Public Affairs, New Jersey Manufacturers Insurance Group
  • David Harkey, president, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety and Highway Loss Data Institute
  • Richard Lonardo, vice president, MetLife Auto and Home
  • William D. Loucks Jr., president, 21st Century Insurance
  • Robert L. Lyon, president and chief executive officer, Rockingham Insurance
  • James MacPhee, president, chief operating officer, Global Retail Markets, U.S., Liberty Mutual Insurance Company
  • John McCaskill, senior vice president — Property and Casualty Underwriting, American National
  • Stan McNaughton, chairman, president and chief executive officer, PEMCO Mutual Insurance Company
  • Theodore C. Murphy, chief operations officer, Amica Mutual Insurance Company
  • Steve Oakley, senior vice president, Product Management and chief actuary, PURE Insurance
  • Holly Reston, senior executive, Underwriting, North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company
  • David A. Sampson, president and chief executive officer, American Property Casualty Insurance Association
  • Duane Sanders, president, Property and Casualty Division, Kemper Corporation
  • Randy Termeer, senior vice president — general manager, Auto Insurance, Property and Casualty Insurance Group, USAA
  • Keith Toney, senior vice president, Product Management and Data Science, The Hartford
  • William B. Westrate, president, American Family Mutual Insurance Company
  • Andrew Woods, vice president, Personal Insurance — Research and Development, The Travelers Companies
  • John Xu, vice president, actuarial, CSAA Insurance Group
  • Floyd M. Yager, senior vice president, Property Management, Allstate Insurance Group
  • Scott Ziegler, business leader, Progressive Insurance