Home » News » 2018 » Article
IIHS News | January 24, 2018Subscribe

Nationwide's Windsor elected IIHS chairman

ARLINGTON, Va. — The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety is pleased to announce the election of William L. Windsor Jr. as chairman of its Board of Directors. Windsor is associate vice president, Office of Consumer Safety, Nationwide Insurance. He succeeds Floyd M. Yager, senior vice president and chief data officer, Allstate Insurance Group, who served as IIHS chairman during 2017 and will continue as a Board member.

Nationwide's Bill Windsor

Bill Windsor

"As a founding member company of the Institute, Nationwide is a staunch champion of its lifesaving work," Windsor says. "I am proud to serve as chairman in 2018 as my Board colleagues and I work with IIHS leadership to further the Institute's legacy of safer roads."

"Bill has represented Nationwide on the Institute's Board of Directors for many years, and we are happy to see him take the helm as we face new challenges in highway safety," says David Harkey, who became IIHS president in January. "I know the Institute will benefit from Bill's leadership and commitment to our mission."

The new chairman-elect is Angela Sparks, vice president and actuary, State Farm Insurance Companies. The new vice chairman is Hank Nayden, vice president and legislative counsel, GEICO Corporation.

Other IIHS Board members are:

  • Gabriel Carrillo, senior vice president, COUNTRY Financial
  • Charles M. Chamness, president and chief executive officer, National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies
  • Dan Clapp, executive vice president and treasurer, Shelter Insurance Companies
  • Cody Cook, senior vice president — personal lines, Erie Insurance Group
  • Paul Franklin, senior vice president, worldwide underwriting manager for personal lines, CHUBB
  • Daniel Halsey, president of personal lines, Hanover Insurance Group
  • John Hardiman, director of public affairs, New Jersey Manufacturers Insurance Group
  • David Harkey, president, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety and Highway Loss Data Institute
  • Jeffrey Hay, vice president of personal lines product management, The Hartford
  • Douglas S. Joyce, president, Alfa Alliance Insurance Corporation
  • Richard Lonardo, vice president, MetLife Auto & Home
  • William Loucks, head of products — central zone, Farmers Insurance Group
  • Robert Lyon, president and chief executive officer, Rockingham Group
  • James MacPhee, executive vice president and chief operating officer, Liberty Mutual Insurance Company
  • John McCaskill, senior vice president — property and casualty underwriting, American National
  • Stan McNaughton, chairman, president and chief executive officer, PEMCO Insurance
  • Ted Murphy, senior vice president of claims, Amica Mutual Insurance Company
  • Steve Oakley, senior vice president, product management and chief actuary, PURE Insurance
  • Jack Salzwedel, chairman, chief executive officer, and president, American Family Mutual Insurance Company
  • David A. Sampson, president and chief executive officer, Property Casualty Insurers Association of America
  • Bob Tart, senior executive, underwriting, North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company
  • Randy Termeer, senior vice president, general manager, auto insurance, P&C Insurance group, USAA
  • James Whittle, associate general counsel and chief claims counsel, American Insurance Association
  • Andrew Woods, vice president, research and development, personal insurance, The Travelers Companies
  • John Xu, vice president, actuarial, CSAA Insurance Group
  • Scott Ziegler, business leader, Progressive Insurance

©1996-2018, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, Highway Loss Data Institute | www.iihs.org