South Dakota

Highway safety laws differ from state to state. The summary information here can be used to compare laws in specific categories. We monitor legislative changes and update this information as needed.

RESTRICTIONS ON CELLPHONE USE AND TEXTING
Hand-held ban no
Young drivers all cellphone ban learner's permit and intermediate license holders
Texting ban all drivers
Enforcement secondary
MAXIMUM POSTED SPEED LIMITS
Rural interstates (mph) 75
Urban interstates (mph) 75
Other limited access roads (mph) 70
Other roads (mph) 70
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
To get a learners license you must:
Have a minimum age of 141
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Before getting a license or restricted license you must:
Have a mandatory holding period of 6 months (3 months with driver education)
Have a minimum supervised driving time of none1
Have a minimum age of 14, 6 months (14, 3 months with driver education)
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Restrictions during intermediate or restricted license stage:
Nighttime restrictions 10 p.m.-6 a.m.
Passenger restrictions

(family members excepted unless otherwise noted)
none
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Minimum age at which restrictions may be lifted:
Nighttime restrictions until age 16 (min. age: 16)
Passenger restrictions none
REGULAR LICENSING RENEWAL CYCLE
Length of regular renewal cycle 5 years
OLDER DRIVER SPECIAL LICENSING PROVISIONS
Accelerated renewal none
Other provisions people 65 and older must submit a vision statement signed by an optometrist or ophthalmologist if applying online or by mail
CHILD RESTRAINTS
Must be in child restraint 4 years and younger and less than 40 pounds
Adult safety belt permissible 5 through 17 years; all children 40+ pounds, regardless of age
Maximum fine 1st offense $25
Seating preference law states no preference for rear seat
Children not covered all children covered
SAFETY BELT USE
Initial effective date 01/01/95
Standard enforcement? no
Who is covered? In what seats? 18+ years in front seat
Maximum fine 1st offense $20
Can nonuse decrease monetary awards for injuries in lawsuits? no
MOTORCYCLE HELMET USE
Motorcyclists covered 17 and younger
BICYCLE HELMET USE
Covered by state law no law
PICKUP TRUCKS: RESTRICTIONS ON RIDING IN CARGO AREAS
Restrictions on riding in cargo areas no state law
Gaps in coverage no state law
LOW-SPEED VEHICLES
On which roads are low-speed vehicles permitted? roads with a posted speed limit of 35 mph or less
What is the top speed permissible for low-speed vehicles? 25 mph

1In South Dakota, learner's permit holders may not drive between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. unless under the supervision of a parent or guardian.