Oklahoma

Highway safety laws differ from state to state. The summary information here can be used to compare laws in specific categories. We monitor legislative changes and update this information as needed.

RESTRICTIONS ON CELLPHONE USE AND TEXTING
Hand-held ban learner's permit and intermediate license holders
Young drivers all cellphone ban no1
Texting ban all drivers
Enforcement primary
MAXIMUM POSTED SPEED LIMITS
Rural interstates (mph) 752
Urban interstates (mph) 70
Other limited access roads (mph) 70
Other roads (mph) 70
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
To get a learners license you must:
Have a minimum age of 15, 6 months3
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Before getting a license or restricted license you must:
Have a mandatory holding period of 6 months
Have a minimum supervised driving time of 50 hours, 10 of which must be at night4
Have a minimum age of 16
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Restrictions during intermediate or restricted license stage:
Nighttime restrictions 10 p.m.-5 a.m.
Passenger restrictions

(family members excepted unless otherwise noted)
no more than 1 passenger5
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Minimum age at which restrictions may be lifted:
Nighttime restrictions 6 months with driver education, 12 months without or until age 18 (min age: 16, 6 mos.)
Passenger restrictions 6 months with driver education, 12 months without or until age 18 (min age: 16, 6 mos.)
OLDER DRIVER LICENSE RENEWAL PROCEDURES
License renewal cycle
General population 4 years
Older population 4 years
OLDER DRIVER LICENSE RENEWAL PROCEDURES
Proof of adequate vision required at renewal
General population no
Older population no
OLDER DRIVER LICENSE RENEWAL PROCEDURES
Mail or online renewal permitted
General population no
Older population no
CHILD RESTRAINTS
Must be in child restraint younger than 2 years or until a child outgrows the manufacturer's top height or weight recommendations in a rear-facing child restraint; younger than 4 years in a child restraint; 4 through 7 years, if not taller than 4 feet 9 inches, in a child restraint or booster seat
Adult safety belt permissible 8 years; children who are taller than 4 feet 9 inches6
Maximum fine 1st offense $50
Seating preference law states no preference for rear seat
Children not covered child 9+ years or older who is not taller than 4 feet 9 inches to ride unrestrained in the back seat
SAFETY BELT USE
Initial effective date 02/01/87
Standard enforcement? yes; effective 11/01/97
Who is covered? In what seats? 9+ years in front seat
Maximum fine 1st offense $20
Can nonuse decrease monetary awards for injuries in lawsuits? no
MOTORCYCLE HELMET USE
Motorcyclists covered 17 and younger
BICYCLE HELMET USE
Covered by state law no law
PICKUP TRUCKS: RESTRICTIONS ON RIDING IN CARGO AREAS
Restrictions on riding in cargo areas no state law
Gaps in coverage no state law
LOW-SPEED VEHICLES
On which roads are low-speed vehicles permitted? roads with a posted speed limit of 35 mph or less
What is the top speed permissible for low-speed vehicles? 25 mph
MEDIUM-SPEED VEHICLES
On which roads are medium-speed vehicles permitted? roads with a posted limit of 45 mph or less
What is the top speed permissible for medium-speed vehicles? 35 mph
MINITRUCKS
Initial effective date 11/01/08
Where permitted any road except interstate highways
Speed restrictions no
Vehicle classification under state law mini-truck

1In Oklahoma, learner's permit and intermediate license holders are banned from using a hand-held electronic device while operating a motor vehicle except in life-threatening emergencies.

2In Oklahoma, the speed limit may be increased by the DOT beyond 75 mph on any highway or part of a highway based on an engineering and traffic investigation, effective November 1, 2016.

3In Oklahoma, 15 year-olds may drive, but only while supervised by an instructor.

4In Oklahoma, learner's permit holders may only operate a motor vehicle between the hours of 5 a.m. and 10 p.m.

5In Oklahoma, a person who has been issued an intermediate Class D license shall not operate a motor vehicle with more than one passenger unless all passengers live in the same household as the custodial legal parent or legal guardian or a licensed driver at least 21 years of age is actually occupying a seat beside the intermediate Class D licensee.

6Oklahoma's applicable statutory provision, 47 Okl. Stat. Section 11-1112, specifies "8 years of age," and not "8 years of age or older." A literal interpretation of the code would allow a child 9+ years or older who is not taller than 4 feet 9 inches to ride unrestrained in the back seat.