Highway safety laws differ from state to state. The summary information here can be used to compare laws in specific categories. We monitor legislative changes and update this information as needed.
1Drivers usually must demonstrate special hardship to justify restoring privileges during suspension, and then privileges often are restricted.
2In Nevada, driver education is required of all license applicants younger than 18 unless there is no driver education program offered within a 30-mile radius of the applicant's residence.
3Some states' licensing laws specifically prohibit licensing administrators from treating people differently solely by virtue of advanced age. Nevada law specifies that age alone is not a justification for reexamination. In Nevada, applicants for mail renewal age 70 and older must include a medical report.
4In Nevada, the minimum fine is $100. An alternative to the fine is at least 10 but not more than 50 hours of community service.
©1996-2013, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, Highway Loss Data Institute | www.iihs.org
Subscribe to news updates
Watch our channel
Mobile ratings & news