Montana

Highway safety laws differ from state to state. The summary information here can be used to compare laws in specific categories. We monitor legislative changes and update this information as needed.

RESTRICTIONS ON CELLPHONE USE AND TEXTING
Hand-held ban no
Young drivers all cellphone ban no
Texting ban no
Enforcement not applicable
MAXIMUM POSTED SPEED LIMITS
Rural interstates (mph) 75;
Urban interstates (mph) 65
Other limited access roads (mph) day: 70; night: 65
Other roads (mph) day: 70; night: 65
MAXIMUM POSTED SPEED LIMITS FOR TRUCKS
Rural interstates (mph) 65
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
To get a learners license you must:
Have a minimum age of 14, 6 months1
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Before getting a license or restricted license you must:
Have a mandatory holding period of 6 months
Have a minimum supervised driving time of 50 hours, 10 of which must be at night
Have a minimum age of 152
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Restrictions during intermediate or restricted license stage:
Nighttime restrictions 11 p.m.-5 a.m.
Passenger restrictions

(family members excepted unless otherwise noted)
first 6 months—no more than 1 passenger younger than 18; second 6 months—no more than 3 passengers younger than 18
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Minimum age at which restrictions may be lifted:
Nighttime restrictions 12 months or at age 18, whichever occurs first (min. age: 16)
Passenger restrictions 12 months or at age 18, whichever occurs first (min. age: 16)
REGULAR LICENSING RENEWAL CYCLE
Length of regular renewal cycle 8 years, or on 75th birthday, whichever occurs first3
OLDER DRIVER SPECIAL LICENSING PROVISIONS
Accelerated renewal 4 years for drivers 75 and older
Other provisions none that are safety related3
CHILD RESTRAINTS
Must be in child restraint 5 years and and younger and less than 60 pounds
Adult safety belt permissible not permissible
Maximum fine 1st offense $100
Seating preference law states no preference for rear seat
Children not covered all children covered
SAFETY BELT USE
Initial effective date 10/01/87
Standard enforcement? no
Who is covered? In what seats? 6+ years in all seats
Maximum fine 1st offense $20
Can nonuse decrease monetary awards for injuries in lawsuits? no
MOTORCYCLE HELMET USE
Motorcyclists covered 17 and younger
BICYCLE HELMET USE
Covered by state law no law
PICKUP TRUCKS: RESTRICTIONS ON RIDING IN CARGO AREAS
Restrictions on riding in cargo areas no state law
Gaps in coverage no state law
LOW-SPEED VEHICLES
On which roads are low-speed vehicles permitted? no state law
What is the top speed permissible for low-speed vehicles? no state law
MEDIUM-SPEED VEHICLES
On which roads are medium-speed vehicles permitted? roads with a posted limit of 45 mph or less
What is the top speed permissible for medium-speed vehicles? 45 mph

1In Montana, enrollment in or completion of driver education is required for permit applicants younger than 15.

2In Montana, license applicants younger than 16 must have completed driver education.

3Montana residents may not renew by mail for a subsequent license term after a mail renewal, regardless of age.