Mississippi

Highway safety laws differ from state to state. The summary information here can be used to compare laws in specific categories. We monitor legislative changes and update this information as needed.

RESTRICTIONS ON CELLPHONE USE AND TEXTING
Hand-held ban no
Young drivers all cellphone ban no
Texting ban learner's permit and intermediate license holders and school bus drivers
Enforcement primary
MAXIMUM POSTED SPEED LIMITS
Rural interstates (mph) 70
Urban interstates (mph) 70
Other limited access roads (mph) 70
Other roads (mph) 65
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
To get a learners license you must:
Have a minimum age of 15
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Before getting a license or restricted license you must:
Have a mandatory holding period of 12 months1
Have a minimum supervised driving time of none
Have a minimum age of 162
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Restrictions during intermediate or restricted license stage:
Nighttime restrictions 10 p.m.-6 a.m. Sun.-Thur., 11:30 p.m.-6 a.m. Fri.-Sat.
Passenger restrictions

(family members excepted unless otherwise noted)
none
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Minimum age at which restrictions may be lifted:
Nighttime restrictions 16, 6 months
Passenger restrictions no
REGULAR LICENSING RENEWAL CYCLE
Length of regular renewal cycle 4 or 8 years, at the option of the driver
OLDER DRIVER SPECIAL LICENSING PROVISIONS
Accelerated renewal none
Other provisions none
CHILD RESTRAINTS
Must be in child restraint 3 years and younger must be in a child restraint; 4 through 6 years and either less than 57 inches or less than 65 pounds must be in a booster seat
Adult safety belt permissible 6 years and younger who either weigh 65 pounds or more or who are 57 inches or taller
Maximum fine 1st offense $25
Seating preference law states no preference for rear seat
Children not covered 7+ years in rear seat
SAFETY BELT USE
Initial effective date 07/01/94
Standard enforcement? yes; effective 05/27/06
Who is covered? In what seats? 7+ years in front seat
Maximum fine 1st offense $25
Can nonuse decrease monetary awards for injuries in lawsuits? no
MOTORCYCLE HELMET USE
Motorcyclists covered all riders
BICYCLE HELMET USE
Covered by state law no law
PICKUP TRUCKS: RESTRICTIONS ON RIDING IN CARGO AREAS
Restrictions on riding in cargo areas no state law
Gaps in coverage no state law
LOW-SPEED VEHICLES
On which roads are low-speed vehicles permitted? no state law
What is the top speed permissible for low-speed vehicles? no state law

1In Mississippi, license applicants 17 and older are exempt from the 12-month learner’s permit holding period.

2In Mississippi, license applicants 17 and older are exempt from the requirement to get an intermediate license.