Minnesota

Highway safety laws differ from state to state. The summary information here can be used to compare laws in specific categories. We monitor legislative changes and update this information as needed.

RESTRICTIONS ON CELLPHONE USE AND TEXTING
Hand-held ban no
Young drivers all cellphone ban learner's permit holders and provisional license holders during the first 12 months after licensing
Texting ban all drivers
Enforcement primary
MAXIMUM POSTED SPEED LIMITS
Rural interstates (mph) 70
Urban interstates (mph) 65
Other limited access roads (mph) 65
Other roads (mph) 55
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
To get a learners license you must:
Have a minimum age of 151
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Before getting a license or restricted license you must:
Have a mandatory holding period of 6 months2
Have a minimum supervised driving time of 40 hours, 15 of which must be at night (effective 01/01/15)
Have a minimum age of 163
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Restrictions during intermediate or restricted license stage:
Nighttime restrictions midnight-5 a.m.
Passenger restrictions

(family members excepted unless otherwise noted)
no more than 1 passenger younger than 20; second 6 months—no more than 3 passengers younger than 20
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Minimum age at which restrictions may be lifted:
Nighttime restrictions 6 months or until age 18, whichever occurs first (min. age: 16, 6 mos.)
Passenger restrictions 12 months or at age 18, whichever occurs first (min. age: 17)
REGULAR LICENSING RENEWAL CYCLE
Length of regular renewal cycle 4 years
OLDER DRIVER SPECIAL LICENSING PROVISIONS
Accelerated renewal none
Other provisions none that are safety related4
CHILD RESTRAINTS
Must be in child restraint 7 years and younger and less than 57 inches
Adult safety belt permissible not permissible
Maximum fine 1st offense $50
Seating preference law states no preference for rear seat
Children not covered all children covered
SAFETY BELT USE
Initial effective date 08/01/86
Standard enforcement? yes; effective 06/09/09
Who is covered? In what seats? 7 and younger and more than 57 inches in all seats; 8+ in all seats
Maximum fine 1st offense $25
Can nonuse decrease monetary awards for injuries in lawsuits? no
MOTORCYCLE HELMET USE
Motorcyclists covered 17 and younger5
BICYCLE HELMET USE
Covered by state law no law
PICKUP TRUCKS: RESTRICTIONS ON RIDING IN CARGO AREAS
Restrictions on riding in cargo areas no state law
Gaps in coverage no state law
LOW-SPEED VEHICLES
On which roads are low-speed vehicles permitted? roads with a posted speed limit of 35 mph or less
What is the top speed permissible for low-speed vehicles? 25 mph
MEDIUM-SPEED VEHICLES
On which roads are medium-speed vehicles permitted? roads with a posted limit of 35 mph or less
What is the top speed permissible for medium-speed vehicles? 35 mph
MINITRUCKS
Initial effective date 08/01/09
Where permitted local option
Speed restrictions local option
Vehicle classification under state law mini truck

1In Minnesota, permit applicants younger than 18 must be enrolled in driver education. An optional 90-minute supplemental curriculum for parents is to be established by July 1, 2014, to provide information concerning graduated licensing, safety risks and the potential influence of adults on driving behavior.

2In Minnesota, the permit holding period also applies to license applicants 18 and older unless they have completed driver education.

3In Minnesota, license applicants younger than 18 must have completed driver education. Provisional license holders must be crash-free to qualify for a full license.

4Some states' licensing laws specifically prohibit licensing administrators from treating people differently solely by virtue of advanced age. Minnesota law specifies that age alone is not a justification for reexamination.

5Motorcycle helmet laws in Minnesota cover operators with instructional/learner's permits.