Maine

Highway safety laws differ from state to state. The summary information here can be used to compare laws in specific categories. We monitor legislative changes and update this information as needed.

DUI/DWI
BAC defined as illegal per se 0.08
Administrative license suspension 1st offense? 90 days
Restore driving privileges during suspension? yes1
RESTRICTIONS ON CELLPHONE USE AND TEXTING
Hand-held ban no
Young drivers all cellphone ban learner's permit and intermediate license holders
Texting ban all drivers
Enforcement primary
MAXIMUM POSTED SPEED LIMITS
Rural interstates (mph) 75
Urban interstates (mph) 75
Other limited access roads (mph) 75
Other roads (mph) 60
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
To get a learners license you must:
Have a minimum age of 152
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Before getting a license or restricted license you must:
Have a mandatory holding period of 6 months2
Have a minimum supervised driving time of 70 hours, 10 of which must be at night
Have a minimum age of 162
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Restrictions during intermediate or restricted license stage:
Nighttime restrictions midnight-5 a.m.2
Passenger restrictions

(family members excepted unless otherwise noted)
first 9 months—no passengers2
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Minimum age at which restrictions may be lifted:
Nighttime restrictions 16, 9 months
Passenger restrictions 16, 9 months
REGULAR LICENSING RENEWAL CYCLE
Length of regular renewal cycle 6 years
OLDER DRIVER SPECIAL LICENSING PROVISIONS
Accelerated renewal 4 years for drivers 65 and older
Other provisions vision test required at first renewal after driver's 40th birthday and at every second renewal until age 62; thereafter, at every renewal
CHILD RESTRAINTS
Must be in child restraint less than 40 pounds in a child safety seat; 40-80 pounds and less than 8 years in a safety system that elevates the child so that an adult seat belt fits properly
Adult safety belt permissible 8 through 17 years or less than 18 years and more than 4'9"
Maximum fine 1st offense $50
Seating preference 11 years and younger and less than 100 pounds must be in rear seat if available
Children not covered all children covered
SAFETY BELT USE
Initial effective date 12/26/95
Standard enforcement? yes; effective 09/20/07
Who is covered? In what seats? 18+ years in all seats
Maximum fine 1st offense $50
Can nonuse decrease monetary awards for injuries in lawsuits? no
MOTORCYCLE HELMET USE
Motorcyclists covered 17 and younger3
BICYCLE HELMET USE
Covered by state law 15 and younger
PICKUP TRUCKS: RESTRICTIONS ON RIDING IN CARGO AREAS
Restrictions on riding in cargo areas yes
Gaps in coverage people 19 and older; agricultural workers and hunters 18 and younger; parades; and people in OEM installed seats outside passenger compartment
LOW-SPEED VEHICLES
On which roads are low-speed vehicles permitted? roads with a posted speed limit of 35 mph or less
What is the top speed permissible for low-speed vehicles? 35 mph
MINITRUCKS
Initial effective date est. 9/09
Where permitted roads with a posted speed limit of 35 mph or less
Speed restrictions 25 mph
Vehicle classification under state law low-speed vehicle

1Drivers usually must demonstrate special hardship to justify restoring privileges during suspension, and then privileges often are restricted.

2In Maine, driver education is required for a permit and a license if the applicant is younger than 18. The learner's permit holding period and the certification of practice driving applies to license applicants younger than 21. The period of license restrictions may extend beyond the person's 18th birthday.

3Motorcycle helmet laws in Maine cover operators with instructional/learner's permits and operators in their first year of licensure. Maine's motorcycle helmet use law also covers passengers 17 and younger and passengers riding with operators who are required to wear a helmet.