Kansas

Highway safety laws differ from state to state. The summary information here can be used to compare laws in specific categories. We monitor legislative changes and update this information as needed.

RESTRICTIONS ON CELLPHONE USE AND TEXTING
Hand-held ban no
Young drivers all cellphone ban learner's permit and intermediate license holders
Texting ban all drivers
Enforcement primary
MAXIMUM POSTED SPEED LIMITS
Rural interstates (mph) 75
Urban interstates (mph) 75
Other limited access roads (mph) 75
Other roads (mph) 65
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
To get a learners license you must:
Have a minimum age of 141
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Before getting a license or restricted license you must:
Have a mandatory holding period of 12 months
Have a minimum supervised driving time of 25 hours, in learner phase; 25 hours before age 16; 10 of the 50 hours must be at night1
Have a minimum age of 161
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Restrictions during intermediate or restricted license stage:
Nighttime restrictions 9 p.m. - 5 a.m.
Passenger restrictions

(family members excepted unless otherwise noted)
first 6 months - no more than one passenger younger than 18
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Minimum age at which restrictions may be lifted:
Nighttime restrictions 16, 6 months
Passenger restrictions 16, 6 months
REGULAR LICENSING RENEWAL CYCLE
Length of regular renewal cycle 6 years
OLDER DRIVER SPECIAL LICENSING PROVISIONS
Accelerated renewal 4 years for drivers 65 and older
Other provisions none
CHILD RESTRAINTS
Must be in child restraint all children 3 and younger must be in a child restraint; children 4 through 7 who weigh less than 80 pounds and children 4 through 7 who are less than 57 inches tall must be in a child restraint or booster seat
Adult safety belt permissible all children 8 through 13 years; children 4 through 7 years who weigh more than 80 pounds, and children 4 through 7 years who are taller than 57 inches
Maximum fine 1st offense $60
Seating preference law states no preference for rear seat
Children not covered all children covered
SAFETY BELT USE
Initial effective date 07/01/86
Standard enforcement? yes; effective 6/10/10 (secondary for rear seat occupants >18)
Who is covered? In what seats? 14+ years in all seats
Maximum fine 1st offense $60/no court costs: 14 -17 years; $10/no court costs: 18+ years
Can nonuse decrease monetary awards for injuries in lawsuits? no
MOTORCYCLE HELMET USE
Motorcyclists covered 17 and younger
BICYCLE HELMET USE
Covered by state law no law
PICKUP TRUCKS: RESTRICTIONS ON RIDING IN CARGO AREAS
Restrictions on riding in cargo areas yes
Gaps in coverage people 14 and older; parades; employment; does not apply to vehicles not being operated in the state highway system or within the corporate limits of a city
LOW-SPEED VEHICLES
On which roads are low-speed vehicles permitted? roads with a posted speed limit of 30 mph or less
What is the top speed permissible for low-speed vehicles? 25 mph
MINITRUCKS
Initial effective date 07/01/08
Where permitted public roads except interstate, federal or state highways; within corporate city limits if allowed under local ordinance
Speed restrictions no
Vehicle classification under state law micro utility truck

1In Kansas, drivers age 15 but not yet 16 may be granted a restricted license if they have completed driver training. Restricted license holders younger than 16 may not drive unless supervised other than to and from school or work via the most direct route and may not carry minor passengers other than siblings. To get a restricted license, applicants must have driven at least 25 of the 50 hours required for a full license and must have held an instruction permit for 12 months.