Highway safety laws differ from state to state. The summary information here can be used to compare laws in specific categories. We monitor legislative changes and update this information as needed.
1In Indiana, driver education determines the minimum age for permits and the intermediate license. People enrolled in or who have completed driver education must be age 15 to have a permit; otherwise, they must be age 16. The minimum age for an intermediate license is 16, 3 months with driver education and 16, 9 months, without.
2Operator licenses issued to individuals younger than 21 are probationary licenses. Holders of a probationary license must adhere to both the night and passenger restriction for six months or until age 21, whichever occurs first. In addition, probationary license holders under age 18 have a graduated night restriction that goes beyond the initial 6 months and lasts until age 18.
3In Indiana, children weighing more than 40 pounds are permitted to be restrained by a lap belt if the vehicle is not equipped with lap and shoulder belts or if all lap and shoulder belts other than those in the front seat are being used to restrain other children younger than 16.
4This state assesses points for violations.
©1996-2016, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, Highway Loss Data Institute | www.iihs.org
Subscribe to news updates
Watch our channel
Mobile ratings & news