Highway safety laws differ from state to state. The summary information here can be used to compare laws in specific categories. We monitor legislative changes and update this information as needed.
1In Idaho, the speed limit may be increased to 80 mph on specific segments of highway on the basis of an engineering and traffic investigation.
2In Idaho, license applicants younger than 17 must have completed driver education. There are three classes of learner's permits — a training instruction permit for people 14, 6 months taking driver education; a supervised instruction permit for practice driving with a nonprofessional supervisor; and an instruction permit for people younger than 17 who have completed driver education and supervised driving or for people 17 and older without either driver education or supervised driving.
©1996-2015, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, Highway Loss Data Institute | www.iihs.org
Subscribe to news updates
Watch our channel
Mobile ratings & news