Highway safety laws differ from state to state. The summary information here can be used to compare laws in specific categories. We monitor legislative changes and update this information as needed.
1In Iowa, drivers education graduates who have held an instruction permit for at least 6 months and are at least 14 and 6 months may apply for a school license that permits unsupervised driving between 5 a.m. and 10 p.m. The school license limits drivers to direct routes to and from school for classes or school sponsored activities, other schools hosting activities, school bus stops and gas stations. Holders of a minor school license may not use electronic communication devices or electronic entertainment devices (permanently installed equipment exempted), carry more than one unrelated passenger, or drive to another school district without an extra-curricular sharing agreement.
2Iowa requires a certification of 10 additional hours of supervised driving during the intermediate stage, two of which must be at night.
3In Iowa, driver education is required for an intermediate license and for an unrestricted license if the applicant is younger than 18.
4In Iowa, parents are permitted to waive at the time of licensure a discretionary six-month passenger limit of no more than one unrelated passenger younger than 18, effective Jan. 1, 2014.
5Beginning Jan. 1, 2014, and continuing through Dec. 31, 2018, Iowa will transition from a standard five-year license term to an eight-year license term. During this time, Iowa driver's licenses will be issued with a randomly assigned expiration date between five and eight years.
©1996-2016, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, Highway Loss Data Institute | www.iihs.org
Subscribe to news updates
Watch our channel
Mobile ratings & news