Georgia

Highway safety laws differ from state to state. The summary information here can be used to compare laws in specific categories. We monitor legislative changes and update this information as needed.

RESTRICTIONS ON CELLPHONE USE AND TEXTING
Hand-held ban no
Young drivers all cellphone ban drivers younger than 18
Texting ban all drivers
Enforcement primary
MAXIMUM POSTED SPEED LIMITS
Rural interstates (mph) 70
Urban interstates (mph) 70
Other limited access roads (mph) 65
Other roads (mph) 65
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
To get a learners license you must:
Have a minimum age of 15
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Before getting a license or restricted license you must:
Have a mandatory holding period of 12 months
Have a minimum supervised driving time of 40 hours, 6 of which must be at night
Have a minimum age of 161
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Restrictions during intermediate or restricted license stage:
Nighttime restrictions midnight-5 a.m. secondary enforcement
Passenger restrictions

(family members excepted unless otherwise noted)
first 6 months—no passengers; second 6 months—no more than 1 passenger younger than 21; thereafter, no more than 3 passengers secondary enforcement
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Minimum age at which restrictions may be lifted:
Nighttime restrictions until age 18 (min. age: 18)
Passenger restrictions until age 18 (min. age: 18)
REGULAR LICENSING RENEWAL CYCLE
Length of regular renewal cycle 5 or 8 years
OLDER DRIVER SPECIAL LICENSING PROVISIONS
Accelerated renewal 5 years for people 60 and older
Other provisions vision test for people 64 and older
CHILD RESTRAINTS
Must be in child restraint 7 years and younger and 57 inches or less2
Adult safety belt permissible more than 57 inches
Maximum fine 1st offense $503
Seating preference 7 years and younger must be in rear seat if avaliable
Children not covered all children covered
SAFETY BELT USE
Initial effective date 09/01/88
Standard enforcement? yes; effective 07/01/96
Who is covered? In what seats? 8 through 17 years in all seats; 18+ years in front seat
Maximum fine 1st offense $154
Can nonuse decrease monetary awards for injuries in lawsuits? no
MOTORCYCLE HELMET USE
Motorcyclists covered all riders
BICYCLE HELMET USE
Covered by state law 15 and younger
PICKUP TRUCKS: RESTRICTIONS ON RIDING IN CARGO AREAS
Restrictions on riding in cargo areas yes
Gaps in coverage people 18 and older; people 17 and younger in pickup trucks with covered cargo areas; any pickup truck off the interstate
LOW-SPEED VEHICLES
On which roads are low-speed vehicles permitted? roads with a posted speed limit of 35 mph or less
What is the top speed permissible for low-speed vehicles? 25 mph
AUTOMATED ENFORCEMENT: RED LIGHT CAMERAS
Statewide or only specified locations? statewide
Violations red light
Citations issued to whom? registered owner
Who is liable? owner
What image is taken? license tag, intersection, and light
Traditional enforcement penalty $1,000 maximum fine/3 points
Auto enforcement penalties/record $70 maximum fine; not a conviction or record offense; no points; not a moving violation; not to be used by insurers

1In Georgia, license applicants younger than 17 must have completed driver education.

2In Georgia, children weighing more than 40 pounds are permitted to be restrained in the back seat of a vehicle by a lap belt if the vehicle is not equipped with lap and shoulder belts or when the lap and shoulder belts are being used by other children who weigh more than 40 pounds.

3This state assesses points for violations.

4In Georgia, the maximum fine is $25 if the child is 6-18 years old.