Arizona

Highway safety laws differ from state to state. The summary information here can be used to compare laws in specific categories. We monitor legislative changes and update this information as needed.

RESTRICTIONS ON CELLPHONE USE AND TEXTING
Hand-held ban no
Young drivers all cellphone ban no
Texting ban no
Enforcement not applicable
MAXIMUM POSTED SPEED LIMITS
Rural interstates (mph) 75
Urban interstates (mph) 65
Other limited access roads (mph) 65
Other roads (mph) 65
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
To get a learners license you must:
Have a minimum age of 15, 6 months1
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Before getting a license or restricted license you must:
Have a mandatory holding period of 6 months
Have a minimum supervised driving time of 30 hours, 10 of which must be at night (none with driver education)
Have a minimum age of 16
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Restrictions during intermediate or restricted license stage:
Nighttime restrictions midnight-5 a.m.; duration: 6 months secondary enforcement
Passenger restrictions

(family members excepted unless otherwise noted)
no more than 1 passenger younger than 18; duration: 6 months secondary enforcement
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Minimum age at which restrictions may be lifted:
Nighttime restrictions 16, 6 months
Passenger restrictions 16, 6 months
REGULAR LICENSING RENEWAL CYCLE
Length of regular renewal cycle until age 652
OLDER DRIVER SPECIAL LICENSING PROVISIONS
Accelerated renewal 5 years for people 65 and older
Other provisions people 70 and older may not renew by mail2
CHILD RESTRAINTS
Must be in child restraint 4 years and younger; children 5 through 7 who are 57 inches or shorter
Adult safety belt permissible 5 through 7 who are taller than 57 inches
Maximum fine 1st offense $50
Seating preference law states no preference for rear seat
Children not covered all children covered
SAFETY BELT USE
Initial effective date 01/01/91
Standard enforcement? no
Who is covered? In what seats? 8+ years in front seat; 8 through 15 in all seats
Maximum fine 1st offense $10
Can nonuse decrease monetary awards for injuries in lawsuits? yes
MOTORCYCLE HELMET USE
Motorcyclists covered 17 and younger
BICYCLE HELMET USE
Covered by state law no law
PICKUP TRUCKS: RESTRICTIONS ON RIDING IN CARGO AREAS
Restrictions on riding in cargo areas no state law
Gaps in coverage no state law
LOW-SPEED VEHICLES
On which roads are low-speed vehicles permitted? roads with a posted speed limit of 35 mph or less
What is the top speed permissible for low-speed vehicles? 25 mph
AUTOMATED ENFORCEMENT: RED LIGHT CAMERAS
Statewide or only specified locations? statewide
Violations red light
Citations issued to whom? not addressed
Who is liable? not addressed
What image is taken? not addressed
Traditional enforcement penalty $250 fine/2 points
Auto enforcement penalties/record $165 fine/2 points
AUTOMATED ENFORCEMENT: SPEED CAMERAS
Statewide or only specified locations? statewide
Violations speed
Citations issued to whom? not addressed
Who is liable? not addressed
What image is taken? not addressed
Traditional enforcement penalty $250 fine/3 points
Auto enforcement penalties/record $165 fine/3 points

1In Arizona, a driver education instructor can authorize an enrolled student who is 15 to drive only while supervised by the authorizing instructor.

2In Arizona, the license is valid until age 65. Any person 65 years and older who is renewing by mail must submit a vision test verification form, provided by the department, or verification of an examination of the applicant's eyesight. The vision test or examination must be conducted not more than 3 months before.