Alabama

Highway safety laws differ from state to state. The summary information here can be used to compare laws in specific categories. We monitor legislative changes and update this information as needed.

RESTRICTIONS ON CELLPHONE USE AND TEXTING
Hand-held ban no
Young drivers all cellphone ban 16-year-old drivers; 17-year-old drivers who have held an intermediate license for fewer than 6 months
Texting ban all drivers
Enforcement primary: texting by all drivers; secondary: cellphone use by young drivers
MAXIMUM POSTED SPEED LIMITS
Rural interstates (mph) 70
Urban interstates (mph) 65
Other limited access roads (mph) 65
Other roads (mph) 65
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
To get a learners license you must:
Have a minimum age of 151
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Before getting a license or restricted license you must:
Have a mandatory holding period of 6 months1
Have a minimum supervised driving time of 30 hours1 (none with driver education)
Have a minimum age of 16
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Restrictions during intermediate or restricted license stage:
Nighttime restrictions midnight-6 a.m.; duration: at least 6 months and age 17 secondary enforcement
Passenger restrictions

(family members excepted unless otherwise noted)
no more than 1 passenger; duration: at least 6 months and age 17 secondary enforcement
YOUNG DRIVER LICENSING SYSTEMS
Minimum age at which restrictions may be lifted:
Nighttime restrictions 172
Passenger restrictions 172
REGULAR LICENSING RENEWAL CYCLE
Length of regular renewal cycle 4 years
OLDER DRIVER SPECIAL LICENSING PROVISIONS
Accelerated renewal none
Other provisions none
CHILD RESTRAINTS
Must be in child restraint younger than 1 or less than 20 pounds in a rear-facing infant seat; 1 through 4 years or 20-40 pounds in a forward-facing child safety seat; 5 but not yet 6 in a booster seat.
Adult safety belt permissible 6 through 14 years
Maximum fine 1st offense $253
Seating preference law states no preference for rear seat
Children not covered 15+ years in rear seat
SAFETY BELT USE
Initial effective date 07/18/91
Standard enforcement? yes; effective 12/09/99
Who is covered? In what seats? 15+ years in front seat
Maximum fine 1st offense $25
Can nonuse decrease monetary awards for injuries in lawsuits? no
MOTORCYCLE HELMET USE
Motorcyclists covered all riders
BICYCLE HELMET USE
Covered by state law 15 and younger
PICKUP TRUCKS: RESTRICTIONS ON RIDING IN CARGO AREAS
Restrictions on riding in cargo areas no state law
Gaps in coverage no state law
LOW-SPEED VEHICLES
On which roads are low-speed vehicles permitted? roads on which a low speed vehicle would not impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic
What is the top speed permissible for low-speed vehicles? not specified
MINITRUCKS
Initial effective date 01/01/2012
Where permitted any road except interstate highways
Speed restrictions 25 mph
Vehicle classification under state law mini-truck
AUTOMATED ENFORCEMENT: RED LIGHT CAMERAS
Statewide or only specified locations? Montgomery
Violations red light
Citations issued to whom? owner
Who is liable? owner
What image is taken? 2 images; tag included
Traditional enforcement penalty $100 fine/3 points
Auto enforcement penalties/record $110; no points

1In Alabama, the supervising driver must be a parent, guardian or driving instructor. At age 16, permit holders may drive with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.

2In Alabama, restrictions end after the driver has held the intermediate license for at least six months and has reached age 17.

3This state assesses points for violations.