New Jersey

To get a learners permit you must
Have a minimum age of 161
Before getting an intermediate or restricted license you must
Have your permit for 6 months1
Complete minimum supervised driving of none
Have a minimum age of 171
Restrictions during intermediate or restricted license stage
Nighttime restriction 11 p.m. - 5 a.m.
Passenger limit (family members excepted unless otherwise noted) no more than 1 passenger (exception is limited to drivers' dependents)
Minimum age at which restrictions may be lifted
Nighttime restriction 12 months or until age 21, whichever occurs first (min. age: 18)
Passenger restriction 12 months or until age 21, whichever occurs first (min. age: 18)

1In New Jersey, the permit becomes an intermediate license after six months for drivers younger than 21 and after 3 months for drivers 21 and older. The graduated licensing law applies to adults, except that the night driving and passenger restrictions are waived for new drivers 21 and older. If the applicant has not completed driver education, the minimum permit age is 17 and the minimum intermediate license age is 17, 6 months. Learner's permit holders may not drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. and may carry only one passenger in addition to the supervising driver or any parent, guardian or dependant.