Kentucky

To get a learners permit you must
Have a minimum age of 161
Before getting an intermediate or restricted license you must
Have your permit for 6 months1
Complete minimum supervised driving of 60 hours, 10 of which must be at night1
Have a minimum age of 16, 6 months2
Restrictions during intermediate or restricted license stage
Nighttime restriction midnight-6 a.m.
Passenger limit (family members excepted unless otherwise noted) no more than 1 passenger younger than 20 unless supervised by a driving instructor secondary enforcement
Minimum age at which restrictions may be lifted
Nighttime restriction 6 months or age 18, whichever occurs first (min. age: 17)
Passenger restriction 6 months or age 18, whichever occurs first (min. age: 17)

1Kentucky law prohibits learner's permit holders from driving between midnight and 6 a.m. or from carrying more than one passenger younger than 20 unless supervised by a driving instructor.

2In Kentucky, license holders younger than 18 must complete a driver education course or a state-sponsored traffic school.