Connecticut

To get a learners license you must:
Have a minimum age of 161
Before getting a license or restricted license you must:
Have a mandatory holding period of 6 months1 (4 months with driver education)
Have a minimum supervised driving time of 40 hours1
Have a minimum age of 16, 4 months1
Restrictions during intermediate or restricted license stage:
Nighttime restrictions 11 p.m. - 5 a.m.; duration: until age 18
Passenger restrictions (family members excepted unless otherwise noted) no passengers other than parents or a driving instructor; duration: first 6 months; no passengers other than parents, driving instructor, or members of the immediate family; duration: second 6 months
Minimum age at which restrictions may be lifted:
Nighttime restrictions 18
Passenger restrictions 17, 4 months

1In Connecticut, either driver education or home training is required for license applicants younger than 18. Permit holders may not carry any passengers aside from the person providing instruction, parents or guardians. Time spent practice driving with a professional instructor counts toward the 40-hour certification requirement. Before an applicant who under 18 may take the driver’s test, parents or guardians must attend two hours of instruction regarding teen driving laws and related issues with such applicant. Anyone 18 years of age or older must hold an adult learner’s permit for three months before obtaining a driver's license.